About The Center

Scientist holding clipboard conducts experiment

About the Center

The Nebraska Governance and Technology Center studies the ever-changing relationship between law and technology – how the law can regulate technology and how new technologies affect what the law can do.

Students walk around on UNL campus green space

Our Mission

With the advent of modern telecommunications, the transistor, the computer, and the Internet each have led to new challenges and changes to the law. Studying the challenges of technology governance is a fundamentally interdisciplinary endeavor. The problems of technology governance occur inside multiple silos. The law of tomorrow is already present in the technology of today. And this law looks, feels, and operates differently than that which we are familiar with. To best tackle today's current and future issues, the Nebraska Governance and Technology Center (NGTC) is composed of a team of faculty, students, and researchers across the University of Nebraska.

The NGTC is housed in the Nebraska College of Law, and legal questions serve as a coordinating function for research and other academic programming. The mission is an inherently interdisciplinary endeavor engaging in active governance related research with researchers representing the College of Law, and the University of Nebraska–Lincoln Colleges of Business, Engineering, and Journalism each studying the challenges of technology governance.

To conduct this research the NGTC sponsors both internal and external initiatives, including multimedia content, student and faculty fellowship programs, student externship funding, roundtables, workshops, visiting speakers and general research funding opportunities.

Learn More About Our Support   View a PDF of our Annual Report

NGTC Research Partners


The Center brings together four colleges from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln to conduct critical and timely research head-quartered at the Nebraska College of Law.

icon of briefcase

College of Business
icon of pencil and paper

College of Engineering
icon of building columns

College of Journalism
and Mass Communications
icon of building columns

College of Law

Our Team

Gus Hurwitz

Menard Director

phone icon402.472.0415

ghurwitz@unl.edu

Gus Hurwitz bio

Justin Firestone

Distinguished Fellow | Faculty

justin.firestone@unl.edu

Justin Firestone bio

Kyle Langvardt

Faculty

langvardt@unl.edu

Kyle Langvardt bio

Elana Zeide

Faculty

zeide@unl.edu

Elana Zeide bio

Mailyn Fidler

Faculty

mfidler@unl.edu

Mailyn Fidler bio

James Fleege

Creative Media Strategist

phone icon402.472.6088

fleege@unl.edu

James Fleege bio

Adina Choat

Center Coordinator

phone icon402.472.0415

adina.choat@unl.edu

Adina Choat bio

Maris Stebbing

Center Coordinator

phone icon402.472.0874

astebbing3@unl.edu

Maris Stebbing bio