21-22 Faculty Fellows

The Nebraska Governance and Technology Center has announced their second class of faculty fellows. The fellows are academics with an interdisciplinary inclination who are interested in the challenges of changing technology and are drawn from across the university. The program also includes a smaller number of visiting fellows from other institutions.

The goal of the fellows program is to develop a cohort of academics who are able to understand technology challenges in interdisciplinary terms: engineers who can talk supply chain management and the role of public engagement in federal regulation; journalists who can speak fluently with entrepreneurs and critically interrogate lawyers advocating for preferred policies; entrepreneurs who can ground technologists in the reality of what can be and push lawyers past their focus on what can’t be; and other permutations involving the law, humanities, sciences, and other fields.

This years fellows programming will focus on communicating policy-relevant STEM topics to the public in an era of mis- and dis-information; the role of technology in responding to a rapidly changing world; and designing technology that is responsive to human needs and expectations. Fellows will participate in a variety of sessions, lectures, collaborative feedback sessions, as well as networking opportunities.

2021-2022 University of Nebraska Faculty Fellows

Lockup of 20 faculty fellows at the Nebraska Governance and Technology Center

Ash Eliza Smith — Center for Emerging Media Arts, Hixson-Lied College Fine and Performing Arts
Bernard McCoy – College of Journalism and Mass Communications
Bonita Sharif — College of Arts and Sciences and College of Engineering
Bryan (Ming) Wang — College of Journalism and Mass Communications
Cody Stolle — Midwest Roadside Safety Facility
Erkut Sönmez – College of Business
Francisco Muñoz-Arriola – College of Engineering
Frauke Hachtmann — College of Journalism and Mass Communications
Heather Akin — College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
Jessica Petersen — College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
Laura Madeline Wiseman — College of Journalism and Mass Communications
Laurie Thomas Lee – College of Journalism and Mass Communications
Li Zhao - College of Engineering
Mark van Roojen – College of Arts and Sciences
Matthew Schaefer — College of Law
Özgür Merih Araz – College of Business
Sajeesh Sajeesh — College of Business
Srivatsan Kidambi – College of Engineering
Valerie Jones – College of Journalism and Mass Communication
Varkey Titus, Jr. — College of Business


2021-2022 Visiting Faculty Fellows

Lauren Scholz — Florida State University
Tabrez Y. Ebrahim — California Western School of Law
Alan Rozenshtein — University of Minnesota
David Thaw — University of Pittsburgh
Rebecca Crootof — University of Richmond School of Law
Asaf Lubin — Indiana University Maurer School of Law
Tammi Etheridge — Elon University
Sarah Oh — Technology Policy Institute
Mailyn Fidler — Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society
Michael Sealy  — Purdue University
Brent Skorup — Mercatus Center at George Mason University


Learn more about the 2020-2021 class of inaugural fellows here.